Home > Blog > Vote for New Board at the Dec. 3rd Meeting

Vote for New Board at the Dec. 3rd Meeting

Reading_BardsTownNovember is the month when we give thanks and express our gratitude for all that has been good over the past year. Women Who Write has had an amazing year with much to be thankful for! We began the year with a first-ever fundraising event when we hosted the movie, Muffin Top: A Love Story and managed to get great attendance despite holding it in the lull between blizzards. We then went on to host our fifth and most successful writer’s conference in July where we blew the doors off with a greater-than-expected attendance of folks coming to learn more about the craft of writing. And finally, we wrapped up the year with the writer’s retreat weekend at the Hopscotch House where so many came together to share their work and spend time together.

These past few weeks alone have seen our members participate in an open mic reading of short pieces during Kim Crum’s Shape and Flow Memoir Reading at the Bard’s Town on Nov. 5 (photo above). This was the first time we ever moved the monthly meeting to a different venue to support all those women who were reading. Two totally awesome events occurred just this past weekend. Many of you made the trip to Frankfort for the annual Kentucky Book Fair and were rewarded with up-close and personal meet-and-greets with over 200 local, regional and nationally renowned authors. I know how special this was because it was my first time meeting Wendell Berry! And if that wasn’t enough, many of you attended the Louisville Literary Arts Writer’s Block Festival and heard from such award-winning authors as Lee Martin and Adam Johnson.

I truly have much to be thankful for. I might add to that list the names of those members who have stepped forward as candidates for the new Women Who Write board for 2016 and 2017. They include: Selene Phillips as director, Dana Lindley as associate director, Joan Dubay as secretary and Melony Dixon as treasurer. I will stay on the board as associate director of PR and communications. Nominations of other candidates can be accepted at the Dec. 3 meeting, as well. Of course, our membership needs to elect the new board, so come to our next meeting to cast your vote. I look forward to seeing you there.

—Jessica Luetzow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *